Published ICC World Cup T20 - Super 12 Matches Data

Oct. 22, 2021

author image


ICC World Cup T20 - Super 12 matches

The most anticipated 7th edition of ICC World Cup T20 commenced on October 17 with a total of 16 teams playing in the competition. The Round 1 includes 8 teams split into two groups A and B. These teams are competing for the top 2 spots in their respective groups to be a part of the second round named The Super 12. The Super 12 teams will have 8 primary teams based on ICC ranking and 4 teams from the group A and B who have occupied the 1 & 2 places in the points table. The Tournament API for the World Cup T20 can be accessed using the Tournament key icc_wc_t20_2021.

Rounds & Teams

Round 1

Round 1 includes eight teams separated in two groups of 4 teams each. They will battle it out in the group stages of the event in Oman and the United Arab Emirates. The top two teams from Group A and Group B will progress to the Super 12 stage of the tournament, which begins on October 23. -Group A teams include Ireland, Sri Lanka, Namibia, Netherlands. -Group B teams include Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Oman, Bangladesh.

Super 12s

The Super 12 stage sees two groups of six teams play a round-robin with the top two teams from each group progressing to the knock-out stage, consisting of two semi-finals and a final.

Group 1

The Group 1 of the Super 12s include England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies. England, crowned as the World Champions in the World Cup 2019 will try to repeat their success in the T20 format and recreate the moments from winning the World Cup T20 in 2010. They’re also currently the No.1 team in the ICC World T20 rankings. Clearly the English side are one of the favourites to win the ICC T20 World Cup. The Aussies have tasted huge success in the 50 over format and are yet to win a T20 World Cup. During the 2010 WC T20, they came close to winning the coveted trophy but fell short. With all the injury crisis in the Australian team and their recent form rule them out as the tournament favourites. The Proteas are sitting at mid-table in the ICC World rankings. They are a slightly inexperienced side compared to the likes of their group members. This young squad have a chance to prove the doubters wrong if they can go deep into the tournament with a fairly inexperienced side. West Indies are only the team to win the T20 World Cup twice in 2012 and 2016. They boast a fearsome batting line-up and a plethora of world-class players in their squad. West Indies are one of the sides that are tailor-made for this T20 format. The defending champions are expected to pose a major threat to any opposition.

Group 2

The Group 2 teams include India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan. India are currently ranked number 2 in the ICC T20 rankings. This WC T20 is significant for India as Virat Kohli will be leading them as their Captain for one last time in the T20 format. India are well equipped in terms of depth in all the fronts, and having been termed as the tournament favourites they now have their legendary Captain MS Dhoni back in the squad as Mentor serves as an added advantage. Pakistan led by their Captain Babar Azam are a quality squad looking to add glory to their 2009 World Cup crown. Azam spearheads an impressive batting line-up, while a varied and dangerous attack and an exciting bowling unit led by their young prodigy Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan has all the tools required to mount a strong challenge. The Kiwis are strong across all-formats and will be full of confidence after being crowned inaugural champions of the ICC World Test Championship. They had reached the semi-finals in 2007 and 2016, which remain their best performances at a T20 World Cup till date. With an arsenal of spinners and explosive hitters, Afghanistan go into the Super 12 stage with every reason to be confident. However Afghanistan’s preparation for the tournament has been difficult with a general sense of chaos surrounding their Country. Given their strengths in the squad and with their star bowler Rashid Khan, they are expected to create troubles for their opponents.

Schedule and Live match scores:

The ICC T20 World Cup have started on 17 October 2021 and will end on 14 November 2021. Roanuz Cricket API published the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup schedule, squad, teams, venue, ICC T20 World Cup historical player stats & tournament stats. The real-time T20 world cup live scores delivered via HTTP Rest-API, Webhook, Websocket & Firebase.

Fantasy Credits

Use the T20 World Cup Cricket Fantasy Match Credits API to get intelligent player credits, and Cricket Fantasy Match Points API to get the player points for building Fantasy App.

Get started

Create a new project and get started with Roanuz Cricket API. Reach Roanuz Support for development support.
ICC Matches with T20 World Cup Fantasy Predictions